Day of thanks-action

A silly title for what I hope will be a simple post. It’s Thanksgiving, though in Spain (and perhaps other hispanoparlante parts of the world) the holiday is called “Día de Acción de Gracias.” As in, getting your thanks on.

Since this is an education blog (see About), I am taking a moment to be thankful to some of the people in my life who have been educators in my life.

I want to thank my mom for reading my blog. She is an amazing mother, and even when she doesn’t have time or energy for herself, she always has both for me.

I want to thank my family and friends for supporting and loving me through my moves to Spain, my tattoos and piercings, my punk hairstyles, my uncertain love life, and my many other changes. I have learned from you through tough conversations, losses, and surprisingly strong bonds through hard times.

And I want to thank my 91-year-old grandma who today reminded me that no matter how serious and important I think my writing, work, or career should be, all I need to do is look at the tie she gave me as a gift for the holiday:

FullSizeRender (1)

I mean, what else do you need to know when you have a frog yoga tie to keep things in perspective? Thanks, Grandma.

And thanks to everyone who reads. I am learning as I write and you are a part of that. It’s an honor to know you’re out there.

Leave a Reply

